A Reflection on My Blog

This started out as a semester-long project for my Online Journalism class at Rowan University. Although the semester is coming to a long-awaited close, I want to keep writing about Smash and eSports.

I loved writing every entry I wrote, even the ones that I had to do late at night when my eyes were begging me for sleep. The only upsetting part about my blog is that I had missed one of the entries (an audio interview with someone) and that fact that I always felt I could do better with my next post. And so I want to continue doing this. I’m likely to end up paying for WordPress Premium or going to another web-hosting site in order to make my blog legit.

I learned two significant things in my blogging experience.

Awareness
For one, it made me more aware of what I could write about and the ways I can present that information. I had mentioned in class that Apex 2015 was a treasure trove of material I could have written about, but I didn’t realize it until after the fact. And blogging made me attentive to the content that I was reading on the daily basis. I paid attention to information that was being told and how it would look if it were done with a different multimedia tool such as pictures, photos, or an info-graphic. Just being aware of this is giving me a frame to work around for future posts.

Socializing (Online or Offline)
Secondly, I’ve always had trouble talking with new people or posting in new places. It’s not the act, but the idea of the act that stops me. I’m always hesitant, which is why I only posted two of my entries in Facebook groups, but they were well-received with gave me confidence for the next thing I share. While it’s not something I learned, talking to new people out of the blue is something I’m going to have to get used to.

Not like I’m a train wreck when talking to new people, but I’ve always had this cloud of anxiety over my head leading up to those situations. When I’m actually in those situations, it’s not that bad at all. Part of that has to do with the fact that gaming has always been a comforting hobby for me. And of course, the tournament matches I play in always gets my blood pumping to forget about my worries.

 

I can’t wait to keep working on my blog and see what interesting or plain silly ideas I can come up with. Here are my top five favorite posts I have made from least to best.

5.What’s Been Happening With Smash
4.Twitch, Streamers, and Streaming
3.A Visual Map of New Jersey Tournaments
2.The Melee Games!
1.The Story of K-Smash!

Leave a comment